Frequently Asked Questions about the Consortium
I have been fingerprinted in the past for another district/organization. Will I need to be fingerprinted again?
|In California it is prohibited by law for multiple agencies to share confidential fingerprint results with one another; therefore, you must be fingerprinted through the live scan process specifically for the Placer County Consortium for Substitute Teachers in order to substitute teach in Placer County school districts.|
I had my fingerprints done for the Placer County Fingerprint Consortium several years ago, but I have not been working. What do I need to do to start working again?
|The first step would be to contact our office to determine if you are still active in the Consortium. If not, we will advise you regarding the next steps.|
I want to substitute in other counties. Will I be able to do that?
|Emergency 30-Day Substitute Permits and California teaching credentials are issued by the CTC and are valid throughout the State. However, the Consortium clearance for Placer County is not transferable to other counties.|
I had an Emergency 30-Day Substitute Permit that has expired; how do I renew it?
|To renew a substitute permit, visit the CTC website at www.ctc.ca.gov and follow the prompts for Online Services for Educators. The cost to renew is $102.50 and a credit card is required. It will take approximately 7-10 days for CTC to post proof of a valid document.|
When I renew my credential/permit, do I need to be fingerprinted again for CTC?
|As long as your credential/permit is current you will not need to be reprinted for CTC. If you allow your document to lapse for 18 months or more, you will then need to be reprinted specifically for CTC before being issued a new document.How long does it take to get an Emergency 30-Day Substitute Permit?|
How long does it take to get an Emergency 30-Day Substitute Permit?
Once CTC receives your online recommendation for a permit, you will receive an email from them with a link to the application. You must complete the application and pay the $102.50 CTC fee through the CTC website in order for your permit to be issued. If you have no criminal history, the permit will usually be issued within 10 days from the time the application process is completed.